2012 Business Awards & Hall of Fame

2012 Business Awards & Hall of Fame

Success in business is worthy of recognition, and local companies make a major contribution to the quality of life in our community.

The Business Awards were started in 1984 to pay tribute to remarkable individuals and companies within the business sector in recognition of their many accomplishments.

In 1993, Business Report brought in a partner, Junior Achievement, to present the awards, and the Hall of Fame category was added to recognize a lifetime of achievement.

Nominations are referred to a community panel of judges, which includes:
Charles D'Agostino, executive director, LSU Louisiana Business & Technology Center
John G. Davies, president/CEO, Baton Rouge Area Foundation
Adam Knapp, president/CEO, Baton Rouge Area Chamber
Cornelius Lewis, president, Gulf Coast BIDCO
Phyllis Mouton, vice chancellor for workforce, corporate and continuing education, Baton Rouge Community College
Jennifer Winstead, president/CEO, Pennington Biomedical Research Foundation

Click the links below to read each honoree's profile:

Richard Lipsey
Hall of Fame Laureate

Brace Godfrey Jr.
Hall of Fame Laureate (posthumous)

Art Favre
Businessperson of the Year

Stafford Kendall
Young Businessperson of the Year

The Newtron Group
Company of the year (100 or more employees)

Company of the year (less than 100 employees)

Click here to see past Business Awards & Hall of Fame honorees.
Click here to download a PDF of the cover package.


Reserve your tickets for the 29th annual Business Awards & Hall of Fame banquet presented by Business Report and Junior Achievement. The event, sponsored by Capital One and Franklin, will be held Tuesday, March 20, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Tickets are $80 per person and $750 for a table of 10. Proceeds benefit the Junior Achievement Endowment Fund. For tickets, call 928-7008 or visit batonrouge.ja.org.

comments powered by Disqus